img_0465

I live only two hours on the Eurostar from Paris and I can’t quite believe that I am not here on a monthly basis as it is easier to get to than the slow train to London.  Paris is wonderful and even if you have only one or two nights here you can immerse yourself and take home some l’amour.

I did spend some time researching where to stay as I think you really have to zone into one area and explore that.  I had seen some Phoenician and Carthaginian treasures in my Louvre guidebook that I wanted to see up close.  Mr B had read a book ‘The fall of the priest, the rise of the lawyer’ by Professor Philip R Wood and wanted to see two works of art in the Louvre that the book discusses.  ‘The Raft of the Medusa’ by Gericault and ‘Vive La Revolution’ by Delacroix.

We opted for the Hotel Regina as it had wonderful reviews and fantastic photo opportunities if you were lucky enough to bag a junior suite on the top floor.  My top tip for a room upgrade is to book the best room you can afford and then email the hotel before you arrive.  It helps if you have a special occasion to celebrate as that will almost certainly guarantee you an upgrade, if you haven’t then don’t feel bad about making one up.  After all, if you get treated especially well you are more likely to return and recommend the place.  I always mention my upgrade in my reviews and always personally thank the hotel afterwards.  It makes your stay ten times nicer and you really feel like royalty.

img_0425

The charming assistant showed us to the glass elevator and we whizzed to the sixth floor.  Antique treasures are on every floor in this beautiful hotel and fashion shows by couture designers have been held here.  The rooms on the sixth floor are up in the eaves of the building.  As we were shown into our room, I did gasp loudly as it was exquisite.  They had laid red rose petals on the bed, how romantic!  We had not one but two mini balconies that looked out over the Rue du Rivoli, across the Tuileries towards the Eiffel Tower.  It was magical.  I couldn’t wait until dark when the Eiffel Tower would shimmer on the hour for five minutes like Josephine Baker in a sequin dress.

We immediately cracked open the half bottle of champagne in the fridge and toasted Paris and our beautiful suite.  By the way, rose petals were a wonderful touch as I visited the Louvre smelling of roses.

The Hotel Regina is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Louvre and overlooks the delightful Tuileries gardens.  The Musee D’Orsay is just across the Seine.  I would highly recommend pre-booking tickets to visit both of these museum galleries as the queue can be quite daunting.  In fact, we didn’t make it to the Musee D’Orsay because we were put off by the line.  There is always next time.

img_0424

img_0486img_0487

img_0479

img_0451

img_0459

